The state of Wyoming follows a minimum coverage amount of a 25/50/20 rule, consisting of $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $20,000 for property damage. In addition Wyoming states that proof of financial responsibility be carried at all times in a motor vehicle. Failure to do so results in a criminal misdemeanor, with a minimum fine of $250, and up to $750. It will also possibly result into jail time. A second offense will result in higher fines.
The state of Wyoming follows the tort system in regards to car accident responsibility, meaning that when an accident occurs, one party involved will be held responsible for the accident, and in turn will be liable for all damages incurred. Wyoming, due to following the tort system, also known as the fault rule, always recommends having a higher coverage amount than the mandatory minimums. Furthermore, an experienced car accident lawyer is highly advised in order to have legal representation when filing your case as car accident lawsuits can get intricate and difficult for the average person.
Wyoming also follows a modified comparative negligence rule regarding accident responsibility. The comparative negligence rules mandates that if one party if found to be at least 51% responsible for an accident, they incur the responsibility to pay all damages.