Wisconsin Car Accident Laws

Wisconsin’s approach to accident coverage is different from many other states. Proof of financial responsibility is mandatory in Wisconsin, however, proof of automobile insurance coverage is not required.  It does mean that in Wisconsin, that proof of being able to pay for injury and damages is required in order to operate a motor vehicle.  Minimum coverage amounts for Wisconsin are $25,000 for personal injury, $50,000 for an accident resulting in death, and $10,000 for property damage. In lieu of of insurance coverage, a motor vehicle operator can place a deposit of $60,000 with the state department of transportation.

Failure to show proof of financial responsibility in Wisconsin can result in the suspension of motor vehicle registration, and license suspension.

Wisconsin also follows the no fault rule, or tort system, when a car accident occurs.  When a driver is found at fault for an accident, he or she is is liable for all damages that occur as a result.  Due to being a “tort” state, it is recommended that coverage higher than the state minimum amount be higher.

Wisconsin also follows what’s considered a modified comparative negligence rule, meaning that if a party is deemed to be at least 51% responsible for causing an motor vehicle accident, then they are fully responsible for all damages incurred.  It is highly recommended to seek an experienced car accident attorney in states that comply with the modified comparative negligence rule.

Close

CONTACT US

Vestibulum id ligula porta felis euismod semper. Nulla vitae elit libero, a pharetra augue. Aenean eu leo quam. Pellentesque ornare sem lacinia quam venenatis vestibulum. Maecenas mollis interdum!

Subscribe error, please review your email address.

Close

You are now subscribed, thank you!

Close

There was a problem with your submission. Please check the field(s) with red label below.

Close

Your message has been sent. We will get back to you soon!

Close