Virginia Insurance laws follow a 25/50/25 minimum requirement: $25,000 for bodily injury of one individual, $50,000 for the bodily injury or death of additional people, and $25,000 for property damage. In addition, a $500 uninsured motor vehicle fee is required. This fee allows a motorist to operate a vehicle without liability insurance, but in case of accident, the at fault motorist is liable for all property and physical damages that may occur.
Virginia is considered an at fault insurance state, meaning that once an accident occurs, it is recommended that the injured party first file a claim with their carrier in order to determine fault, then file a claim with the responsible party’s insurance carrier. If the insurance carrier cannot over all of the damages, the victim can then file a lawsuit. When fault cannot be ascertained, filing with a court to seek fault is a possibility as well, according to Virginia law. However, Virginia is also a contributory negligence state, which means that even if the other party is mostly responsible, you’ll still have to pay damages if you are considered responsible for any part of the accident. For instance, if you were speeding when you were hit by another vehicle, you could liable for a portion of the accident. It’s imperative to retain a car accident lawyer in a contributory negligence state, as the laws are intricate and the average person typically needs professional legal help if a lawsuit is filed.