Insurance coverage under Vermont state laws follows the 25/50/10 plan for the minimum required amount. $25,000 per person for bodily injuries, $50,000 per additional person per accident., and $10,000 for property damage during an accident.
Vermont is considered a fault state, meaning that when there is an accident and the proof of cause is on one party, then the victim of the accident can make a claim against the responsible party. Once this happens, Vermont requires that the involved party first make a claim with their insurance carrier. After that, they can make a claim with the responsible party’s insurance carrier, and if needed, file a personal injury lawsuit against the at fault party.
Additionally, Vermont is a modified comparative fault state, which means your damage awards will be reduced if you are found to be at fault for any part of the car accident. For instance, if you acted negligently while driving, such as speeding or talking on your phone, then you could be liable for part of the accident, and your funds will be reduced to meet your financial obligation for that portion of collision. In modified comparative fault states, an experienced car accident lawyer is highly recommended so that you understand all of your legal rights and have the representation needed to successfully win your lawsuit.