Under Utah state laws, the minimum insurance requirements consist of a coverage breakdown of 25/65/3/15. 25/65/3/15 coverage consists of $25,000 for bodily injury of one individual, $65,000 per accident with bodily injury involved, $3,000 for personal injury protection (PIP), and $25,000 for property damage. For failure to meet the state’s minimum requirements, It is a state class B misdemeanor, and can result in a fine of $400 and the loss of driving privileges.
The state of Utah follows a “no fault” system, which means with the occurrence of an accident, there is no requirement of fault, and insurance companies cover incurred damages up to a certain amount. If the insurance companies cannot cover all of the damages, then you are legally able to file a lawsuit against the responsible party.
Utah also follows the modified comparative negligence rule, where one party cannot file a claim against the other party unless it is determined that the responsible party involved is found to be at least at a 50% or higher level of negligence.
Under Utah insurance rules, R-590-190, the insurance company of the claimant has to respond within 15 days after a written submittal is done. And after a 30 day time frame, the insurer has either accept or deny the claim The only exception is if the investigation cannot make a clear case of fault, and then the insurer does have additional time to complete the inquiry. It’s important to have professional legal help in Utah, as the laws are intricate and difficult.