Under Tennessee law, 25/50/15 insurance is the minimum requirements for protection. 25/50/15 requirements include $25,000 for bodily injury or death, $50,0000 for more than one injured individual, and $15,000 for damaged property.
The state of Tennessee is considered a “tort” state regarding car accident laws, meaning that when there is more than one party involved in an accident, only one party is found to be at fault in the accident. That party is then responsible for all damages. When fault is determined, the party responsible usually has their insurance handle the damage claims. Due to Tennessee being a tort state, most insurance companies that operate within Tennessee recommend that coverage should be higher than the state minimum required.
In addition, Tennessee adheres to the comparative fault rule, meaning that you’ll only be able to sue the other party if they are more than 50% responsible for the collision. If the other party is more than 50% responsible, you can collect damages for lost wages, medical expenses, emotional stress, pain and suffering, disfigurement, and more. An experienced car accident lawyer is imperative in a comparative fault state so that you’ll have the help needed to maximum the damages received in your lawsuit.
Keep in mind that you have three years from the time of the accident to file a lawsuit under Tennessee’s statute of limitations.