Rhode Island Car Accident Laws

As with all states in the nation, Rhode Island mandates that its drivers carry a certain amount of auto insurance that will serve as protection should an accident occur. Rhode Island adheres to the 25/50/25 insurance plan, which consists of $25,000 for individual bodily injuries or death, $50,000 for the bodily injuries or death of additional individuals, and $25,000 in property damage coverage.

Rhode Island follows the tort system, also known as the fault-based system, for all car accidents in the state. The fault-based system mandates that the party responsible for causing the car accident is also responsible for all the of the damages. The victim of the accident is legally allowed to file a claim with the the responsible party’s insurance company, and if needed, file a lawsuit to recover the damages.

Additionally, Rhode Island is a pure comparative fault state, which entitles to you recover any damages that the other party was at fault for even if you were also at fault for a portion of the accident. In other words, you have the right to be compensated by the responsible party, but your total settlement amount will be reduced to cover any part of the accident that was your fault. A car accident lawyer can help you prove fault and negligence, and is highly recommended in a comparative fault state.

Close

CONTACT US

Vestibulum id ligula porta felis euismod semper. Nulla vitae elit libero, a pharetra augue. Aenean eu leo quam. Pellentesque ornare sem lacinia quam venenatis vestibulum. Maecenas mollis interdum!

Subscribe error, please review your email address.

Close

You are now subscribed, thank you!

Close

There was a problem with your submission. Please check the field(s) with red label below.

Close

Your message has been sent. We will get back to you soon!

Close