Pennsylvania requires its drivers to maintain minimum amount at all times which serves as protection should a car accident happen. Pennsylvania adheres to the 15/30/5/5 insurance plan, consisting of $15,000 coverage for personal injury protection for other parties involved (other passengers, drivers, or pedestrians), $30,000 in total coverage per accident, $5,000 for property damage coverage, and $5,000 for no-fault personal injury coverage.
Pennsylvania is a no-fault car accident state, which mandates that all parties are to use their own insurance coverage to pay for damages that occur in the event of a car accident. Victims of car accidents must use all of their personal injury coverage first, but if their coverage doesn’t pay for all damages, they can then file a lawsuit against the responsible party.
Once a car accident lawsuit is filed, be aware that Pennsylvania adheres to the 51% proportional comparative fault law, which mandates that the party responsible for the car accident must be at least 51% or more at fault before any damages can be recovered. Keep in mind that you’ll need an experienced car accident lawyer to assist you if you file a lawsuit, because it it’s determined that the other party was not at least 51% at fault, then you’ll not be able to recover any damages at all.