The state of Oregon requires all drivers to maintain a certain amount of auto insurance at all time. Auto insurance serves as protection in the case of car accidents or collisions. The state-mandated amount of insurance in Oregon consists of $25,000 for bodily injuries, and additional $50,000 coverage for bodily injuries of more than person, $10,000 in property damage coverage, and $15,000 in personal injury protection coverage (PIP).
Oregon is considered both a fault and a no-fault state in the event of a car accident, meaning that the party that caused the accident is liable for all of the damages. Yet at the same time, the victim’s own PIP coverage is used to cover any bodily injuries for up to a year after the collision. Keep in mind though, that the state or Oregon still allows you to file a lawsuit against the responsible party even if you have not used all of your PIP coverage.
Oregon follows the 51% proportional comparative fault rule should a victim file a car accident lawsuit, meaning that the responsible party must be proven to be at fault for 51% or more of the accident. If this cannot be proven, the victim cannot seek damages. It’s extremely important to have an experienced car accident lawyer on your side in proportional comparative fault states as the laws are difficult and intricate for the average person.