Oklahoma Car Accident Laws

Oklahoma requires all drivers to carry liability insurance at all times for protection in the event of an accident. The minimum state-mandated car insurance in Oklahoma consists of $25,000 for the injury or death of one individual (which includes yourself), $50,000 coverage for the death or injury of more than person, and $25,000 property damage coverage.

Oklahoma operates under the fault-based system should an accident occur. The fault-based system, also known as a tort system, means that if a car accident happens, the party that is fault is responsible for all of the damages. After a car accident, the victim can file a claim with the at-fault party’s insurance company. However, if the other party’s insurance company doesn’t pay for all of the damages, the victim can also file a lawsuit.

Be aware that if you’ve been a victim of a car accident, you have two years from the time of the accident to file a personal injury and/or property damage lawsuit. It’s recommended however, to retain the services of a top car accident lawyer as soon as possible in order to maximize not only your chances of success, but also your damages. 

Close

CONTACT US

Vestibulum id ligula porta felis euismod semper. Nulla vitae elit libero, a pharetra augue. Aenean eu leo quam. Pellentesque ornare sem lacinia quam venenatis vestibulum. Maecenas mollis interdum!

Subscribe error, please review your email address.

Close

You are now subscribed, thank you!

Close

There was a problem with your submission. Please check the field(s) with red label below.

Close

Your message has been sent. We will get back to you soon!

Close