Every driver in the state of North Dakota is legally obligated to have liability car insurance for protection in the event of an accident. The following is the minimum state requirements: $25,000 bodily injury, $50,000 bodily injury for additional individuals, $25,000 for property damage, $50,000 for uninsured motorist coverage, and $30,000 no- fault insurance, which is also known as personal injury protection (PIP).
In North Dakota, drivers who are involved in a car accident which results in an injury or a fatality, or incurs damage which exceeds $1,000, must have it legally documented with law enforcement. If the accident takes place within the limits of an incorporated town or city, drivers should call the police department. Otherwise, drivers are advised to contact either the county sheriff’s office or the state highway patrol.
North Dakota is a modified comparative law state. This means that if you’ve been a victim of a car accident, the other party must be at least 50% responsible in order to recover damages. If it’s ruled that you are 50% or more responsible as well, then you cannot recover any damages.
Keep in mind that in the state of North Dakota, you have two years from the time of the accident to file a personal injury lawsuit, and six years from the time of the accident to file a property damage lawsuit. However, it’s imperative to hire an experienced car accident lawyer as soon as possible.