North Carolina Car Accident Laws

As with many other states in the nation, North Carolina complies with the tort system, known as the fault rule, for car accidents. The fault rule mandates that driver responsible for the car accident is also responsible for the damages that incurred as a result. Victims can file a claim with the other party’s insurance company and with their own insurance company. Minimum car insurance requirements in North Carolina are $25,000 for bodily injury or death, an additional $60,000 for total accident damages in a single accident, and $25,000 for property damages. Known as the 25/60/25 plan, this coverage ensures protection when and if a car accident occurs.

If the insurance company doesn’t cover the full amount of damages, victims are legally able to file a lawsuit in order to recover the remainder. In North Carolina, you have three years from the time of the accident to file a claim. It’s imperative to hire a car accident lawyer in fault states so that you’ll have the necessary back up in order to prove your case. 

Close

CONTACT US

Vestibulum id ligula porta felis euismod semper. Nulla vitae elit libero, a pharetra augue. Aenean eu leo quam. Pellentesque ornare sem lacinia quam venenatis vestibulum. Maecenas mollis interdum!

Subscribe error, please review your email address.

Close

You are now subscribed, thank you!

Close

There was a problem with your submission. Please check the field(s) with red label below.

Close

Your message has been sent. We will get back to you soon!

Close