The state of New York complies with the no-fault rule pertaining to car accidents, meaning that drivers must file with their own insurance companies in the event of accident, regardless of fault. If your insurance company doesn’t cover of all the damages incurred, you’ll be able to file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver as long at least one of the following conditions are met: bone fractures, disfigurement, a permanent disability, or significant loss of use of your body for at least 90 days. If you have suffered from any of the aforementioned disabilities, or if you just have questions regarding the criteria, it’s important to hire an experienced car accident attorney who understand New York laws and has extensive knowledge of the no-fault rule.
New York mandates that all drivers carry the minimum 25/50/100/10 coverage on their vehicles at all time. This is the only way an insurance company can protect in the event of a car accident. The 25/50/100/10 plan covers $25,000 in personal injury protection coverage (PIP), $50,000 in wrongful death coverage, $10,000 for total wrongful death coverage, and $10,000 in property damage coverage.
If you plan to file a personal injury or property damage lawsuit in New York, it must be done within three years of the incident. However, contacting a leading car accident lawyer as soon as possible in order to get your lawsuit underway is highly recommended.