New Mexico Car Accident Laws

The state of New Mexico adheres to the fault based rules, also known as the tort system, when it comes to car accidents. Fault states mandate that the driver who was responsible for the car accident will always be liable for the the damages. The driver who was not at fault is allowed to file a claim with his or her own insurance company, the at-fault party’s insurance company, and if needed, file a lawsuit for any damages that the insurance companies did not cover. All drivers in New Jersey must maintain liability insurance consisting of the 25/50/10 plan: $25,000 for the injury or death of one person, $50,000 for the injury or death of additional people, and $10,000 for property damage.

New Mexico is also a comparative negligence state, which allows insurance companies to investigate and figure out how much damages they owe. Typically, insurance companies are known to resist paying out what’s needed. Additionally, a portion of the car accident blame could be placed with the victim. It’s important to have a car accident lawyer in order help you understand the process and fight for your rights, because if you found to be in any way responsible, you’ll be liable for those damages even if you most of the blame does not lie with you.

Close

CONTACT US

Vestibulum id ligula porta felis euismod semper. Nulla vitae elit libero, a pharetra augue. Aenean eu leo quam. Pellentesque ornare sem lacinia quam venenatis vestibulum. Maecenas mollis interdum!

Subscribe error, please review your email address.

Close

You are now subscribed, thank you!

Close

There was a problem with your submission. Please check the field(s) with red label below.

Close

Your message has been sent. We will get back to you soon!

Close