New Jersey Car Accident Laws

Along with many other states in the nation, New Jersey is a no-fault state in regards to car crashes. If you’ve been in a car crash, you must file with your insurance company in order to recover damages. All drivers in New Jersey are required to have the minimum 5/15/250 liability insurance coverage which consists of $5,000 for for any property damage, $15,000 for personal injury protection (PIP), and $250,000 per individual per each accident for serious bodily injuries.

If your insurance company cannot cover the full amount of damages that incurred, you can then sue the responsible party. However, New Jersey mandates that that the car accident must have resulted in at least one of the following: death, loss of a fetus, disfigurement, a permanent injury, or displaced fractures. Since New Jersey is a no-fault state, most car accidents never get to the point of a lawsuit. However, an experienced lawyer is still highly recommended in order to lead you through the recovery process as insurance companies are prone to fight against paying out damages.

Close

CONTACT US

Vestibulum id ligula porta felis euismod semper. Nulla vitae elit libero, a pharetra augue. Aenean eu leo quam. Pellentesque ornare sem lacinia quam venenatis vestibulum. Maecenas mollis interdum!

Subscribe error, please review your email address.

Close

You are now subscribed, thank you!

Close

There was a problem with your submission. Please check the field(s) with red label below.

Close

Your message has been sent. We will get back to you soon!

Close