State law requires that all drivers carry liability insurance in case they are involved in a car accident. Nevada’s minimum coverage limits are $15,000 for each injury or fatality, $30,000 for injuries or deaths of two or more persons involved in the accident, and $10,000 for damage or total destruction of an individual’s property as a result of the accident.
As with most of the other states in the Union, Nevada car accident cases fall under the legal category of tort liability. If you are injured in a car crash, you can file a suit against the other person. However, proving who is at fault is not always easy, and even if a suit can be pursued there are no legal guarantees of success. The other driver must be found more at fault than you in order for you to get any compensation for your injuries or property damages.
Nevada is also a state which follows the proportional comparative fault principle, which means that a driver who is considered to be 50% or more responsible for a car accident can’t be awarded any damages in a lawsuit. In Nevada, the proportional comparative fault level is 51%. In addition, Nevada’s statute of limitations on car accidents is two years after the date that the accident occurred. Because car accident cases are often complicated and need to be resolved within a certain period of time, it’s vital to contact an experienced auto accident attorney as expediently as possible.