Missouri law requires that all drivers must have the minimum 25/50/10 insurance plan on their vehicles, which will cover them should a car accident happen. The 25/50/10 insurance plan consists of $25,000 coverage for bodily injuries on one individual, $50,000 for each accident for injuries, and $10,00 in property damage coverage.
Missouri operates under the fault rule when it comes to car accidents, meaning that insurance companies cover the damages of a car accident, but you’re also legally able to file a lawsuit against the responsible party. This is also known as the tort liability system or law. If you plan to file a lawsuit, however, it’s imperative to seek out an experienced car accident lawyer who’ll be able to help you recover the maximum financial amount in damages. Keep in mind that you’ll need to file your lawsuit within three years of the accident, but the sooner the better.
Furthermore, the state of Missouri mandates that anyone who is involved in a car accident, no matter how minor or major, must stay at the scene of the accident until it has been reported and a police officer has officially documented it. Be aware that other than your insurance and personal information, you should never claim fault to an accident or go into detail until you’ve retained a car accident lawyer.