Mississippi follows the 25/50/25 insurance plan, which covers drivers in the event of a car accident. The 25/50/25 plans consists of $25,000 per individual injury, $50,000 for additional bodily injuries, and $25,000 for property damage. Being a fault state, Mississippi allows anyone that has been a victim of a car accident to recover damages by either filing a claim with their insurance company, the other party’s insurance company, or via a lawsuit. A lawsuit typically happens when the insurance company cannot cover all of the incurred damages.
When a lawsuit is filed in Mississippi, the at-fault party can be responsible for several things, including recklessness, willful misconduct, and negligence. In some cases, both parties are at fault. In these instances, the only way you can recover damages is if one party is more than 50% at fault than the other.
Mississippi statute of limitations allows you three years from the time of the car accident to file a lawsuit. If you’ve been injured, you are allowed three years from the time the injury was found out. Yet, it’s highly recommended to retain the services of a leading car accident lawyer as soon as possible after your accident.