In 1974, Minnesota passed The Minnesota No-Fault Automobile Insurance Act, which mandates that all drivers must carry liability insurance on their vehicles which will cover any car accident damages. If and when a car accident occurs, the insurance companies are responsible for paying for the damages that incurred. Minimum insurance requirements in Minnesota are as follows: $40,000 per accident for personal injury protection (PIP), $30,00 for one person for bodily harm, $10,000 for property damage, $25,000 for uninsured motorist coverage, and $50,000 for uninsured motorist coverage for additional injured parties.
Since insurance companies pay for car accident damages, there are certain rules in place for filing car accident lawsuits. If your insurance company cannot cover all of the damages and you wish to file a lawsuit to recover the rest, the damages must be over $4,000. You also must have a physical injury that has lasted more than 60 days as a result of the car accident.
Once you file your car accident lawsuit, you must be able to prove that the other party was at fault. Since this is difficult for the average person, a knowledgeable car accident lawyer is recommended. In addition to proving fault, the other driver must be more than 50% at fault or you will be unable to recover to any damages. In Minnesota, this is known as the comparative fault law.