Michigan law requires that all drivers have the 20/40/10 insurance plan on their vehicles, which serves as protection should a car accident occur. The 20/40/10 insurance plan consists of $20,000 for one injured person, $40,000 for each accident when an additional person is injured, and $10,000 for property damage coverage. Additionally, Michigan is a “no fault” state, which means your insurance company is responsible for the damages accrued during an accident. However, insurance company payments are capped at monthly limit of $4,929, which will may not cover all of the damages. In this situation, drivers typically file a car accident lawsuit against the responsible party to recover the rest of the damages.
The state of Michigan follows the proportional comparative law when it comes to car accidents, which means you can sue the responsible party if the insurance company isn’t able to pay for all of your damages. The other driver must be more than 50% at fault of the car accident or else you’ll not be able to file a lawsuit.
You have up to three years in Michigan to file a personal injury or property damage lawsuit, but it’s highly recommended to seek the assistance of a car accident lawyer as soon as possible in order to get your case started.