In Maine, drivers are required to carry some of the highest minimum liability coverage in the nation, which protects them should a car accident occur. Minimum liability insurance consists of $50,000 in coverage for the injury or death of one person, $100,000 in coverage to cover a single accident in total, $25,000 for property damage coverage, and $1,000 for any medical payments. A combined policy of $125,000, however, is also acceptable under Maine’s auto insurance coverage law.
In addition, Maine uphold the modified comparative fault rule in regards to car accidents, meaning that the other driver must be at least more than 50% at fault than you are to be able to collect damages. Additionally, you are responsible for showing proof that the other driver was the one that caused the accident. This can be time-consuming and difficult for the average person, but a leading car accident lawyer has the experience and knowledge, and can make a huge difference in the outcome of your case.
Under the car accident laws in Maine, plaintiffs can seek damages for a variety of reasons, including lost wages, medical expenses, pain and suffering, disabilities, physical disfigurement, emotional stress, and permanent injuries.