Louisiana requires the 15/30/25 insurance plan as a the minimum coverage for all drivers which will protect them in the event of a car accident. The 15/30/25 plan consists of $15,000 for the injury of death of one person (including you, a passenger, or another driver), $30,000 for the death of injury of more than one person, and $25,000 for property damage.
Louisiana is also a “fault” state, meaning that the person at fault in a car accident is responsible for paying for any property damage or personal injuries to the other party. However, both drivers can file a claim with their insurance company for damages.
If the case goes to court, Louisiana adheres to the comparative fault law, which means that the plaintiff may also have to pay damages if he is at fault for anything that may have caused the accident. For example, even if the other driver failed to yield and hit your car, yet you were speeding, then your settlement may be reduced. It’s important to hire a car accident lawyer in a comparative fault state as an experienced car accident attorney will be able to assist you in reaching the maximum financial settlement amount.
Pursuant to La. Civil Code 3492, personal injury and property damage lawsuits must be filed within two years of the incident.