The state of Kentucky adheres to the no fault rule when it comes to car accidents. The no fault rule mandates that if you’ve been in a car accident, your insurance coverage will provide $10,000 to cover lost wages, medical expenses, funeral arrangements, and prescriptions. Keep in mind that drivers must have liability insurance in Kentucky in order to be covered under the no fault law. Minimum required auto insurance in Kentucky consists of the 25/50/10 coverage: $25,000 coverage for bodily injury liability, $50,000 for bodily injuries on additional individuals, and $10,000 property damage liability.
In many situations, the $10,000 provided by your insurance coverage is not enough to cover all of your damages. This typically brings about a lawsuit; suing the other party responsible for the accident. However, the state of Kentucky also mandates that before you sue another party, you must have at least $1,000 in damages along with proof that you’ve suffered some sort of physical injury as a result of the accident.
Professional assistance is highly recommended if you plan to file suit. An experienced car accident lawyer will be able to not only assist you with the filing, but will also fight to help you win the maximum financial compensation.