Idaho Car Accident Laws

In Idaho, drivers must maintain at least liability insurance for protection in the event of a car accident. Idaho follows the 25/50/15 plan, consisting of $25,000 for for injury and death coverage, $50,000 for injury and death coverage for other individuals, and $15,000 for property damages.

When a car accident happens, Idaho follows the “fault system,” which means that the party who was at fault for the collision must pay for bodily and property of the other party involved. If insurance does not cover all of the damages, then the responsible party must pay out of pocket. However, before any damages can be paid out, injured parties must either file a claim with their own insurance, file a claim with the responsible party’s insurance, or file a lawsuit. In “no fault” states such as Idaho, insurance claims must be used first before pursuing additional damages, and even then, there are several limits as to what a driver can sue for. It’s important to hire a car accident lawyer in states that adhere to the fault system law, as the details are extremely intricate as to what is covered and what can be filed.

If you need assistance finding a top car accident attorney, give us a call or fill out our form for a free consultation.

Close

CONTACT US

Vestibulum id ligula porta felis euismod semper. Nulla vitae elit libero, a pharetra augue. Aenean eu leo quam. Pellentesque ornare sem lacinia quam venenatis vestibulum. Maecenas mollis interdum!

Subscribe error, please review your email address.

Close

You are now subscribed, thank you!

Close

There was a problem with your submission. Please check the field(s) with red label below.

Close

Your message has been sent. We will get back to you soon!

Close