In Hawaii, all drivers must maintain a minimum of liability insurance on their vehicles, consisting of $10,000 for personal injury protection (PIP), $20,000 per additional person for personal injury, $40,000 per accident, and $10,000 per accident for property damage.
The modified comparative negligence law is mandated in Hawaii, which states that you’ll need to pay for the damages of any part of an accident you have caused, whether you were the main party at fault or not. For example, a car may have hit you, but if you were speeding, then you are responsible for the damages caused from speeding. Typically, what you owe is taken out of your total settlement compensation. There is no rule, however, that indicates the percentage you will owe if you are found at fault for any kind of negligence. Several factors surrounding the accident will be factored in before the percentage is decided. It’s recommended to retain the services of a leading Hawaii car accident lawyer in order to make sure you have competent representation for your settlement or trial.
Under Haw. Rev. Stat 657-7, if you’ve been in an accident, you have a time limit of two years to file a personal injury lawsuit against the other party. You also have two years to file a property damage lawsuit if your car was damaged.