Under Georgia law, 25/50/25 insurance coverage is required for all drivers in order to protect themselves and other drivers should a car accident happen. 20/50/25 coverage consists of $25,000 for individual bodily injury, $50,000 for more than one injured party, and $25,000 for property damage.
Additionally, Georgia is a modified comparative negligence state, meaning your recovery damages from a car accident suit will be reduced if you are found to have any fault at all. For example, if the other party failed to yield and crashed into your vehicle, then the other party is at fault. However, if you were speeding at the time of the collision, then you are partially at fault, therefore, your recovery damages will be reduced in order to compensate for your speeding violation. Furthermore, if you are found to be 50% or more at fault, you cannot file for any damages in Georgia.
Per Ga. Code Ann. 9-3-33, you have two year statute of limitations to file suit for personal injury, and four years for property damage in Georgia. It’s extremely important to seek the assistance of a leading car accident attorney, however, as soon as possible after an accident.