Per the Florida Financial Responsibility Law, drivers in the state Florida must carry full liability auto insurance in order to be covered financially in the event of an accident. Full liability coverage consists of $10,000 per person in bodily injury liability, $20,000 per accident, and $10,000 property damage liability per accident.
If you’ve been in an accident, the first thing required is to submit a “crash report” to the Department of Motor Vehicles. Typically, a law enforcement office will do this for you. Right after, it’s important to seek the assistance of a qualified car accident lawyer who can go through the processes of getting your settlement. Since 1973, Florida has adhered to the Comparative Negligence law, which means you can be found guilty of at least some part of the accident, and in turn will have to pay damages even if the accident wasn’t your fault. In Florida, anything said to an insurance company after a car accident can be used to determine fault and assign negligence. Therefore, it’s recommended to consult with an attorney before speaking to your insurance company.
The Statute of Limitations to file a suit in Florida is four years from the date of your injury, and two years for wrongful death.