Colorado Car Accident Laws

In 2003, the state of Colorado became a fault state in regards to car accidents, meaning that any Colorado driver who is in a car accident must first file their claims with their own auto insurance companies to cover medical bills and damages. Being a fault state, Colorado also mandates that all drivers have at least the 25/50/15 insurance coverage on their vehicles. The 25/50/15 coverage consists of $25,000 per person for bodily injury or death, $50,000 for additional individuals, and $15,000 in property damage coverage.

If insurance companies cannot cover all damages, then car accident victims are allowed to file a lawsuit to recover the rest of the damages. Colorado follows the comparative fault in car accident lawsuits, which means you’ll need to prove that the other party is at least 50% or more at fault for the collision. If not, you’ll be unable to recover any damages. In addition, if you are responsible for any part of the collision, you’re legally liable to pay for those damages, which is typically taken out of your total settlement amount.

Per Colo. Rev. Stat. Secs. 13-80-102, 13-80-103, you’ll need to file your lawsuit within two years of the accident. However, it’s recommended to retain a car accident lawyer and file as soon as possible.

Close

CONTACT US

Vestibulum id ligula porta felis euismod semper. Nulla vitae elit libero, a pharetra augue. Aenean eu leo quam. Pellentesque ornare sem lacinia quam venenatis vestibulum. Maecenas mollis interdum!

Subscribe error, please review your email address.

Close

You are now subscribed, thank you!

Close

There was a problem with your submission. Please check the field(s) with red label below.

Close

Your message has been sent. We will get back to you soon!

Close