California Car Accident Laws

In California, all drivers must carry at least liability coverage on their vehicles, which must be presented at the time of an accident. The required liability coverage is the 15/30/5 plan, consisting of $15,000 for bodily injury, $30,000 for bills and damages, and $5,000 to cover another party’s property damages.

When you’ve been in a car accident in California, you’ll need to provide not only your insurance requirements, but you’ll also need to file a complaint to prove the other party violated the California Vehicle Code, which allows the courts to have proof that the other party acted negligently and as a result, needs to pay damages. In addition, California is a comparative state, meaning that if the plaintiff in a car accident lawsuit is determined to be at any fault at all during the accident, then the plaintiff’s settlement amount will be reduced.

There are several reasons in which a plaintiff can sue for damages in California car accidents, such as the other party failing to yield, speeding, driving the wrong way, driving recklessly, failure to turn on headlights, failure to use the proper turn signals, and more. An experienced car accident lawyer will be able to guide you thoroughly through the process so that you understand your legal rights.

Close

CONTACT US

Vestibulum id ligula porta felis euismod semper. Nulla vitae elit libero, a pharetra augue. Aenean eu leo quam. Pellentesque ornare sem lacinia quam venenatis vestibulum. Maecenas mollis interdum!

Subscribe error, please review your email address.

Close

You are now subscribed, thank you!

Close

There was a problem with your submission. Please check the field(s) with red label below.

Close

Your message has been sent. We will get back to you soon!

Close