Arkansas Car Accident Laws

In Arkansas, drivers are legally obligated to maintain first-party coverage on their vehicles. First-party coverage entails payment of medical, hospital, and funeral expenses in the event of a car accident. In addition, first-party coverage pays for up to 70% of lost wage income for up to 52 weeks. All drivers must have this coverage whether they have been in an accident or not.

When an auto accident occurs in Arizona, all drivers must file an accident report if more than $1,000 in damages have resulted from the collision. A motor vehicle report, known in Arkansas as an SR-1,must also be furnished whether the accident was your fault or the other driver’s fault, within 30 days. Furthermore, all drivers involved in a car accident must furnish proof of financial responsibility to the Department of Finance and Administration (DFA). The easiest to do the aforementioned requirement is to simply have your insurance carrier fill out a proof of insurance form, known as the SR-21, and submit it to the DFA. You’ll need to sign the SR-21,beforehand which will show you have insurance, which is proof of financial responsibility.

In the event of any accident in Arkansas, a car accident lawyer is highly advised because of the intricate process involved in dealing with settlements in or out of court. A leading car accident attorney will be able to guide you through the details and make the process much simpler.

Close

CONTACT US

Vestibulum id ligula porta felis euismod semper. Nulla vitae elit libero, a pharetra augue. Aenean eu leo quam. Pellentesque ornare sem lacinia quam venenatis vestibulum. Maecenas mollis interdum!

Subscribe error, please review your email address.

Close

You are now subscribed, thank you!

Close

There was a problem with your submission. Please check the field(s) with red label below.

Close

Your message has been sent. We will get back to you soon!

Close