Alaska Car Accident Laws

Drivers in Alaska must have car insurance that will cover up to $100,000 in the event of an accident, which includes $50,000 for an extra passenger. This coverage will be used if and when a car accident happens to cover medical expenses and property damage. If a driver in Alaska doesn’t have auto insurance at the time of an accident, not only does he or she face legal repercussions, but will typically be sued by the opposing party.

In court, the state of Alaska limits the amount of damages that can be recovered in car accident claims. Injured parties are only entitled to $10,000 in damages. If the negligent party didn’t have insurance the accident took place, they will be responsible for paying the amount in full. However, in some instances, the guilty party may be able to start a structured settlement. A structured settlement allows people to pay money owed from a lawsuit in several payments as opposed to a lump sum. Typically, lump sums are reserved for high amounts in damages. Parties must file their claim within two years of the accident or within two years from the date that their injuries were discovered. You are strongly advised to seek the assistance of a Alaska car accident attorney to help you with your legal issues.

Close

CONTACT US

Vestibulum id ligula porta felis euismod semper. Nulla vitae elit libero, a pharetra augue. Aenean eu leo quam. Pellentesque ornare sem lacinia quam venenatis vestibulum. Maecenas mollis interdum!

Subscribe error, please review your email address.

Close

You are now subscribed, thank you!

Close

There was a problem with your submission. Please check the field(s) with red label below.

Close

Your message has been sent. We will get back to you soon!

Close